Sunday, July 17, 2011

Has anyone worked full time while still trying to complete undergrad?

Yes, I have and it took me time to become stable so I cam finish school. I'm now 23 and a junior but I didn't quit. Since my mother caught cancer in 2007 I was forced to work. I also had surgery in 2008. Medical bills piled up so I work for Walmart full time. Working for Walmart is not bad bc they are usually open 24 hrs and work around your schedule. I'm full time and have been since day one. I also took an academic overload and passed all my classes with 22 semester hrs. I'm a full time student now. You have to figure out your balance, what you can handle and what you cAnt. I would say wait a semester after working to become a full time student bc if you never had a job... It will kill ya body and you'll just have to adjust your body::: sounds easier than said! My advice would be to take your core courses now, once you get 30 semester hours which ur over half way there then transfer to a school with your major. You may have to take out student loans there but that's okay, there is nothing wrong with that as long as you finish school and don't waist the money. You'll get a job after school to pay these back. As for medical bills, I'm sure they will let you pay on them a month. Don't eat out and put every penny toward your bills so you can knock them out once you graduate that way all you have is student loans to worry about. Your not going to get much sleep so use the 10 minute power naps as much as possible, sounds like a joke but it helps a lot. After you graduate, youll look back and see what you accomplished.

No comments:

Post a Comment